Login      Receive Our Newsletter    

What to know about Francophone Countries

Francophone countries are countries where French is an official language or widely spoken. Here is a list:

  1. Belgium
  2. Benin
  3. Burkina Faso
  4. Burundi
  5. Cameroon
  6. Canada (mainly the province of Quebec and parts of New Brunswick)
  7. Central African Republic
  8. Chad
  9. Comoros
  10. Democratic Republic of the Congo
  11. Republic of the Congo
  12. Côte d'Ivoire (Ivory Coast)
  13. Djibouti
  14. Equatorial Guinea
  15. France (including overseas territories)
  16. Gabon
  17. Guinea
  18. Haiti
  19. Luxembourg
  20. Madagascar
  21. Mali
  22. Monaco
  23. Niger
  24. Rwanda
  25. Senegal
  26. Seychelles
  27. Switzerland (mainly in the cantons of Romandy)
  28. Togo
  29. Vanuatu
  30. Vietnam

It's worth noting that while French is widely spoken in some of these countries, it may not necessarily be their official language. Additionally, there are other regions and territories around the world where French is spoken, but they are not independent countries.

What does it mean if a country is francophone?

francophone countries

A country is considered francophone if French is either an official language or widely spoken within its borders. Let's explore these two aspects in more detail:

  1. Official Language: In some countries, French is designated as one of the official languages alongside other languages. This means that the government, administrative institutions, and legal systems of these countries recognize French as a language with official status, granting it certain rights and responsibilities. For example, in countries like Belgium, Canada, Switzerland, and Senegal, French is recognized as an official language alongside other languages like Dutch, German, English, or local languages.
  2. Widely Spoken: In many countries, French may not have official status but is still widely spoken due to historical, cultural, or educational reasons. This typically occurs in former French colonies or regions with a significant French influence. In these countries, French may be used in various domains such as education, media, business, and government administration. While it may not have official recognition, French may hold a strong position as a lingua franca or second language. Examples of such countries include Benin, Burkina Faso, Ivory Coast, Madagascar, Mali, and Togo.

Overall, the francophone status of a country depends on the presence and significance of French in its linguistic landscape, either through official recognition or widespread usage.

Curiosities about Francophonie

Here are some curiosities about francophone countries:

  1. Quebec, Canada: Quebec is the largest province in Canada where French is the official language. It is also the only province with a predominantly French-speaking population. Quebec has a distinct cultural identity and promotes the use of French in various aspects of daily life, including education, government, and media.
  2. Monaco: The Principality of Monaco is a small independent city-state on the French Riviera. French is one of the official languages of Monaco, along with Monégasque and Italian. The annual Monaco Grand Prix, a prestigious Formula One race, is held in the streets of Monaco and attracts international attention.
  3. Haiti: Haiti is a Caribbean country that shares the island of Hispaniola with the Dominican Republic. It is the only francophone nation in the Americas where French is an official language. However, the majority of the population speaks Haitian Creole, a distinct French-based creole language.
  4. Senegal: Senegal is known for its vibrant music scene, particularly in the capital city of Dakar. The country has produced renowned musicians like Youssou N'Dour and Baaba Maal, who have achieved international recognition. Senegalese music often blends traditional West African rhythms with modern influences, creating a unique sound.
  5. Madagascar: Madagascar, an island country off the coast of East Africa, is home to a rich biodiversity. It is famous for its unique flora and fauna, including lemurs, baobab trees, and chameleons. French is one of the official languages of Madagascar, alongside Malagasy.
  6. Vietnam: While Vietnamese is the official language of Vietnam, French has had a historical influence on the country due to French colonial rule. Today, remnants of French colonial architecture can still be found in cities like Hanoi and Ho Chi Minh City. Additionally, some Vietnamese vocabulary and culinary traditions have been influenced by French.
  7. Switzerland: Switzerland is a multilingual country, and French is spoken in the western part of the country known as Romandy. The Swiss city of Geneva is home to numerous international organizations, including the United Nations and the Red Cross. French is one of the working languages of these organizations, contributing to its prominence in the region.

These are just a few examples of the many intriguing aspects of francophone countries. Each country has its own unique history, culture, and contributions to the francophone world.

Leave a Comment

First and Last Names
E-mail Address

Kathy Thibodeaux wrote:
4 Jun 3:28pm
French is very widely spoken in Morocco as well.

2 Centers in your area

French classes, library & office in Los Gatos - View map

Office hours:
Tuesdays 10am-2pm
Thursdays 11am-1pm

Saturdays 10am-12pm

French classes near you in Palo Alto  - View map

Get in touch

Alliance Française Silicon Valley



14107 Winchester Blvd. Suite T,
       Los Gatos, CA 95032

Design by Monsieur Graphic | Powered by Oncord